WYOMING OUTDOOR COUNCIL LEGISLATIVE ALERT
FEBRUARY 19, 2001

STOP THE STATE LAND GIVE-AWAY! CALLS AND EMAILS NEEDED NOW!

HOUSE BILL 193 WOULD ALLOW RESIDENTIAL SUBDIVISIONS ON STATE LANDS, INCLUDING STATE LANDS WITHIN GRAND TETON NATIONAL PARK, NATIONAL FORESTS AND BLM LANDS STATEWIDE!

House Bill 193, State lands - lease terms and purposes, sponsored by Representative(s) Shivler and Law and Senator Larson, was reported out of the Senate's Agriculture Committee last week and is now headed to the Senate floor for a vote as early as Tuesday, February 20. Please contact your senators immediately and ask them to vote "NO" on HB 193-State lands.

Although this bill is primarily intended to facilitate commercial development of state lands near Jackson Hole ski area, its effect will be felt statewide. If it becomes law, HB 193 will allow private residential development on 3,500 acres of state school trust lands in Grand Teton National Park and on millions of acres elsewhere in the state. The impacts of this legislation on wildlife habitat, water quality, landscape character and recreational access could be devastating.

MORE INFORMATION ON HB 193

HB 193 amends Wyoming state land leasing laws by adding two new uses for which state sections may be leased: "residential and affordable housing purposes." Even worse, HB 193 extends the maximum lease term to sixty (60) years from twenty-five (25) years, the current lease limit, and gives lease owners the preferential right to renew. This would, in fact, grant the lessee de facto ownership of state lands. This transaction would occur without any requirement for review or analysis of the impact on fish, wildlife, recreation, tourism or aesthetic values or guarantee of meaningful public participation in this leasing decision. Thousands of acres of unique, valuable state lands such as in Grand Teton National Park, along the Bighorn front and within the Red Desert, could effectively become privatized without your input and with no regard for our wildlife, hunting, fishing or recreation resources.

JUST SAY NO! TO THE SUBDIVISION OF WYOMING'S STATE LANDS!
LET'S KEEP WYOMING "LIKE NO PLACE ON EARTH."

CALL THE VOTER HOTLINE: (307) 777- VOTE (8683) - FROM 8 AM TO 5 PM WEEKDAYS, OR LEAVE A MESSAGE FOR YOUR SENATORS AT (307) 777-7711.
NOT ALL SENATORS HAVE EMAIL. ADDRESSES OF THOSE THAT DO ARE REPRINTED BELOW.
Jim Anderson mailto:jamesda1@msn.com
Tex Boggs mailto:tboggs@wwcc.cc.wy.us
Cale Case mailto:ccase@senate.wyoming.com
Rich Cathcart mailto:rcathcart@cheyennehomes.com
Hank Coe mailto:hcoe@myavista.com
Ken Decaria> mailto:kDecaria@senate.wyoming.com
Keith Goodenough mailto:guvgood@hotmail.com
John Hanes mailto:jhanes@CompuServe.com
Mark Harris mailto:mharris@senate.wyoming.com
Bill Hawks mailto:bhawks@trib.com
Rae Lynn Job mailto:rjob@senate.wyoming.com
Tom Kinnison mailto:Tom@tkinnison.com
Mike Massie mailto:mmassie@senate.wyoming.com
Jayne Mockler mailto:jmockler@senate.wyoming.com
John Schiffer mailto:jschiffe@senate.wyoming.com
Bill Vasey mailto:bvasey@senate.wyoming.com
Steven Youngbauer mailto:youngbauer@vcn.com

To review HB 193, click on: http://legisweb.state.wy.us/2001/engross/hb0193.htm


 
--
The Wyoming Outdoor Council represents Wyoming citizens who are concerned
about our quality of life, our communities and our environment.

We invite you to learn more about Wyoming Outdoor Council and the environmental issues in Wyoming. Visit our web site: www.wyomingoutdoorcouncil.org