WYOMING OUTDOOR COUNCIL LEGISLATIVE ALERT
FEBRUARY 22, 2001
Bad Wyoming State Land Leasing Bill Advances in Committee!

HOUSE BILL 193 PASSES FIRST READING. BILL WOULD SANCTION SAGEBRUSH SUBDIVISIONS ON WYOMING STATE LANDS THROUGHOUT WYOMING!

House Bill 193, State lands - lease terms and purposes, sponsored by Representative(s) Shivler and Law and Senator Larson, passed its first reading in the Senate today by a vote of 15 to 11, with four members excused for conference committees. Second reading of the bill is scheduled for Friday, February 23 and third and final reading is scheduled for Monday, February 26. It is essential that we stop this legislation!

Please contact your senators immediately and ask them to vote "NO" on HB 193-State lands.

Although this bill is primarily intended to facilitate commercial development of state lands near the Jackson Hole ski area, its effect will be felt statewide. If it becomes law, HB 193 will allow private residential development on 3,500 acres of state school trust lands in Grand Teton National Park and on millions of acres elsewhere in the state. The impacts of this legislation on wildlife habitat, water quality, landscape character and recreational access could be devastating.

MORE INFORMATION ON HB 193

HB 193 amends Wyoming state land leasing laws by adding two new uses for which state sections may be leased: "residential and affordable housing purposes." Even worse, HB 193 extends the maximum lease term to sixty (60) years from twenty-five (25) years, the current lease limit, and gives lease owners the preferential right to renew. This would, in fact, grant the lessee de facto ownership of state lands. This transaction would occur without any requirement for review or analysis of the impact on fish, wildlife, recreation, tourism or aesthetic values or guarantee of meaningful public participation in this leasing decision. Thousands of acres of unique, valuable state lands such as in Grand Teton National Park, along the Bighorn front and within the Red Desert, could effectively become privatized without your input and with no regard for our wildlife, hunting, fishing or recreation resources.

JUST SAY NO! TO THE SUBDIVISION OF WYOMING'S STATE LANDS!
LET'S KEEP WYOMING "LIKE NO PLACE ON EARTH."

CALL THE VOTER HOTLINE: (307) 777- VOTE (8683) - FROM 8 AM TO 5 PM WEEKDAYS, OR LEAVE A MESSAGE FOR YOUR SENATORS AT (307) 777-7711.

NOT ALL SENATORS HAVE EMAIL. ADDRESSES OF THOSE THAT DO ARE REPRINTED BELOW.

Senator Jim Anderson (R-Glenrock); mailto:jamesda1@msn.com
Senator Tex Boggs (D-Rock Springs); mailto:tboggs@wwcc.cc.wy.us
Senator Cale Case (R-Lander); mailto:ccase@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Rich Cathcart (D-Carpenter); mailto:rcathcart@cheyennehomes.com
Senator Hank Coe (R-Cody); mailto:hcoe@myavista.com
Senator Ken Decaria (D-Evanston); mailto:kDecaria@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Keith Goodenough (D-Casper); mailto:guvgood@hotmail.com
Senator John Hanes (R-Cheyenne); mailto:jhanes@CompuServe.com
Senator Mark Harris (D-Green River); mailto:mharris@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Bill Hawks (R-Casper); mailto:bhawks@trib.com
Senator Rae Lynn Job (D-Rock Springs); mailto:rjob@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Tom Kinnison (R-Sheridan); mailto:Tom@tkinnison.com
Senator Mike Massie (D-Laramie); mailto:mmassie@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Jayne Mockler (D-Cheyenne); mailto:jmockler@senate.wyoming.com
Senator John Schiffer (R-Kaycee); mailto:jschiffe@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Bill Vasey (D-Rawlins); mailto:bvasey@senate.wyoming.com
Senator Steven Youngbauer (R-Gillette); mailto:youngbauer@vcn.com

To review HB 193, click on: http://legisweb.state.wy.us/2001/engross/hb0193.htm

Thank you for your help with this important issue!

(For more information, please contact Mac Blewer at the Wyoming Outdoor Council at (307) 332-7031 or at mac@wyomingoutdoorcouncil.org. Information regarding the Wyoming Legislature can be obtained on the legislative website at http://legisweb.state.wy.us)


The Wyoming Outdoor Council represents Wyoming citizens who are concerned
about our quality of life, our communities and our environment.

We invite you to learn more about Wyoming Outdoor Council and the environmental issues in Wyoming. Visit our web site: www.wyomingoutdoorcouncil.org